The Tear Drinkers

Commissioned by The Kitchen, Mike Iveson's second full-length staged musical work, THE TEAR DRINKERS, is a suite of sci-fi songs for one of the most atmospheric performance spaces in all of New York City. It follows four humans who are kidnapped by two United States government workers and brought to an underground holding tank in New Mexico to determine which of them is actually an alien from another planet masquerading as an earthling. 

Downtown performer Mike Iveson leads a team of exceptional artists, including pioneering video artist Charles Atlas, in a look at the private heartaches of humans and aliens alike. There will be some singing. As well as stuff that happens in a bathroom that probably no one wants to talk about. 

A lot of stuff can happen in a bathroom that probably no one wants to talk about.

Featuring performances by April Armstrong, Anthony R. Brown, Don Castro, Gavin Price, Courtney Williams, and Akyiaa Wilson, with Mike Iveson on piano.

Written & directed by Mike Iveson
Video design Charles Atlas
Set and costume design Parker Lutz
Lighting design Zack Tinkelman
Choreography/Assistant director Greg Zuccolo
Stage management Maurina Lioce
Assistant stage management Hanna Novak
Producer Ariana Smart Truman
Line producer Lindsay Hockaday

Funding Credits

The Tear Drinkers is made possible with support from Jerome Foundation, Howard Gilman Foundation, The Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, and in part by public funds from New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council and New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. The Tear Drinkers was developed at residencies at The Kitchen and via Lower Manhattan Cultural Council's Process Space program. Rehearsal space was also provided in part by Clubbed Thumb/440 Studios and Abrons Arts Center. Many individuals contributed to make this project possible. 

About The Kitchen

The Kitchen is one of New York City’s oldest nonprofit spaces, showing innovative work by emerging and established artists across disciplines. Our programs range from dance, music, performance, and theater, to video, film, and art, in addition to literary events, artists’ talks, and lecture series. Since its inception, The Kitchen has been a powerful force in shaping the cultural landscape of this country, and has helped launch the careers of many artists who have gone on to worldwide prominence.

About Mike Iveson

Mike Iveson is a performer, composer and 2013 Ethyl Eichelberger Award winner. He wrote the music for the plays: DOT, by Kate E. Ryan (Clubbed Thumb/Ohio Theatre), Potatoes of August, by Sibyl Kempson (Dixon Place, Red Eye Theater/MN), and You For Me For You, by Mia Chung (Woolly Mammoth), as well as Kempson’s Fondly, Collette Richland (New York Theater Workshop/Elevator Repair Service). He has also composed music for many of choreographer Sarah Michelson’s dances, including commissions for France’s Lyon Opera Ballet's Love Is Everything and for Mikhail Baryshnikov & the White Oak Dance Project's The Experts, as well as for many Michelson shows including Group Experience (PS122), for which he won a Bessie Award for music composition; Shadowmann (The Kitchen and PS122); Daylight (PS122); and Dogs (BAM). As a performer he has appeared in Elevator Repair Service’s Fondly, Collette Richland; Arguendo; The Select; The Sound and the Fury; and Gatz, in a number of Sarah Michelson’s dances, as well as shows by Richard Maxwell/NYC Players, New Georges, Dancenoise, Nature Theater of Oklahoma, Kate Benson, Tom Murrin/Jack Bump, Kristin Marting/HERE, Erin Courtney, Yvonne Meier,  Aaron Landsman, Mike Taylor, and many others.

About Charles Atlas

Charles Atlas is an artist and filmmaker who has been producing works since the mid-1970s, including media/dance works, multi-channel video installations, feature-length documentaries, video art works for television, and live electronic performances. 

Throughout his career, Atlas has collaborated with international performers and choreographers including Merce Cunningham, Douglas Dunn, Michael Clark, Leigh Bowery, Marina Abramovic, DANCENOISE, Yvonne Rainer, and Anohni.